People: Principal Investigator
Principal Investigator
Professor Ronald K. Hanson, Ph.D.
Clarence J. and Patricia R. Woodard Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, by courtesy, of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Additional Appointments
Honorary Professorship, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China, from 2014
Honorary Professorship, Northwestern Polytechnic University, China, from 2014
Chair, International Advisory Committee, Clean Combustion Research Center, Tsinghua University, China, from 2010
Ph.D. Aeronautics and Astronautics - Stanford University, 1968
M.S. Mechanical Engineering - Arizona State University, 1965
B.S. Mechanical Engineering - Oregon State University, 1961
Laser diagnostics and sensors, shock wave physics and chemistry, laser spectroscopy, chemical kinetics, combustion science, and advanced propulsion
2016 - Energy Systems Award, AIAA
2016 - H. S. Tsien Professorship, China Academy of Sciences
2015 - Milton Van Dyke Award, American Physical Society
2015 - David Goodwin Memorial Lecture, Caltech, inaugural speaker
2014 - Honorary Prof. Appt. at Xi'an Jiaotong U. & Northwestern Polytechnic U., China
2013 - Outstanding Paper of 2013, J. of Measurement Science and Technology
2013 - Arch T. Colwell Award (co-winner), SAE
2013 - Best Paper of 2013, Measurement Science and Technology
2013 - Plenary Lecture at International Conference on Chemical Kinetics, Spain
2013 - Edison Lecture, University of Notre Dame
2012 - Paper selected for "Highlights of 2011-2012" collection of Measurement Science and Technology
2012 - Top 20 Most Published Author (Past 50 years), Applied Optics
2011 - Humboldt Senior Scientist Award, Germany
2011 - Crocco Colloquium Lecture, Princeton University
2011 - Fowler Distinguished Lecture, Texas A&M University
2011 - Arch T. Colwell Award from SAE, co-author
2011 - Best Paper Award, Propellants and Combustion, AIAA, co-author
2011 - R.I. Soloukhin Award, International Colloquium on the Dynamics of Explosions and Reactive Systems
2010 - Hottel Lecturer, 33rd International Combustion Symposium
2008 - Egerton Gold Medal, The Combustion Institute
2005 - Propellants and Combustion Award, AIAA
2004 - Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
2002 - Elected to National Academy of Engineering (NAE)
2002 - Silver Medal, Combustion Institute
2000 - Best Paper of 2000, Journal of Measurement Science and Technology
1997 - Best Paper Award, Ground Test Conference, AIAA
1997 - Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
1996 - Aerodynamic Measurement Technology award from the AIAA (first recipient)
1990 - Fellow, Optical Society of America (OSA)